When you delete most record, they do not delete immediately. Instead they are moved into the bin area.
Any record still associated with binned records will show as a striked through link. Binned records can still be opened and looked at. However, once you purge the bin and remove everythign from it, they are gone forever.
You can also choose to restore an item from the bin and restore it to it’s former state.